Home About Us Library Board

Text Size:
Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size
Library Board
The Perth & District Union Public Library Board is made up of nine members, three from each of our three supporting municipalities. The Town of Perth and the Townships of Drummond/North Elmsley and Tay Valley each appoint one municipal councillor and two lay members to the library board for the four-year council term.

Board members are responsible for policy and funding decisions related to the library, as well as for hiring the CEO. The role of the board is governed by the Public Libraries Act, an Ontario provincial statute.

Board Meetings
The library board meets the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the library's meeting room. There are no meetings in July or August. Meetings are open to the public. If you would like to speak at the library board meeting, please contact CEO/Chief Librarian Erika Heesen at (613) 267-1224 or eheesen@perthunionlibrary.ca to arrange a delegation. Delegations are limited to 15 minutes.

2018 meeting schedule
January 15
February 26 (change due to Family Day)
March 19
April 16 (rescheduled to April 23)
May 28
June 18
September 17
October 15
November 19

Perth & District Union Public Library Board

John Gemmell, Deputy Mayor, Town of Perth, CHAIR
  • jgemmell2@cogeco.ca | (613) 267-4102

    Lynda Kanelakos, Town of Perth
  • lynda@wildelement.ca | (613) 267-6058

    Richard Morris, Town of Perth
  • randjmorris@sympatico.ca | (613) 267-3592

    George Sachs, Councillor, Drummond/North Elmsley 
  • gwsachs@hotmail.com | (613) 200-0288

    John Kalbfleisch, Drummond/North Elmsley
  • lisnaskea@xplornet.com | (613) 264-1117

    Ted Parkinson, Drummond/North Elmsley
  • (613) 326-0454

    Jennifer Dickson, Councillor, Tay Valley Township
  • jdickson.tayvalley@gmail.com | (613) 264-9883 

    Carol Rigby, Tay Valley Township
  • cerigby@xplornet.com | (613) 268-2946

    Elliott Neumann, Tay Valley Township
  • elliott@blaeberry.com |

    Lynn Marsh, Secretary-Treasurer
  • lynn@healthybooks.ca | (613) 464-2559

    Erika Heesen, Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
  • eheesen@perthunionlibrary.ca | (613) 267-1224

  • A good library is a place, a palace where the lofty spirits of all nations and generations meet.
    ~ Samuel Niger (1883-1956)

    Perth & District Union Public Library
    30 Herriott Street | Perth ON  K7H 1T2
    Telephone: (613) 267-1224
    Fax: (613) 267-7899

    Email: info@perthunionlibrary.ca

      Copyright Perth & District Union Public Library. All Rights Reserved.
      Sponsored by the Friends of the Library. Terms | Privacy | Sitemap
    We're Accredited! Click Here to Learn More