The library is now open for browsing! Details.
The library is now open for browsing! Details.

Library Board

The Perth & District Union Public Library Board is made up of nine members, three from each of our three supporting municipalities. The Town of Perth and the Townships of Drummond/North Elmsley and Tay Valley each appoint one municipal councillor and two lay members to the library board for the four-year council term.

Board members are responsible for policy and funding decisions related to the library, as well as for hiring the CEO. The role of the board is governed by the Public Libraries Act, an Ontario provincial statute.


Board Meetings

The library board meets the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the library’s meeting room. While COVID-19 restrictions are in place, the board is meeting virtually. There are no meetings in July or August. Meetings are open to the public. Contact Erika Heesen for the virtual meeting details at (613) 267-1224 or

If you would like to speak at the library board meeting, please contact CEO Erika Heesen at (613) 267-1224 or to arrange a delegation. Delegations are limited to 10 minutes.


Upcoming Meeting Dates

September 20, 2021

October 18, 2021

November 15, 2021

Board meeting minutes

June 15, 2020

September 28, 2020

October 19, 2020

November 16, 2020


January 18, 2021 

February 22, 2021

March 15, 2021 

April 19, 2021

May 17, 2021

June 21, 2021 (minutes posted once approved)


Perth & District Union Public Library Board (2019-2022)

Carol Rigby, TVT – Board Chair

John Fenik, ToP – Mayor

Deborah Hamilton-Foley, ToP

Sheldon Giff, ToP

John Matheson, DNE – Councillor

Susan Murray, DNE

Dawn Palmer, TVT

Ted Parkinson, DNE – Policy Committee Chair

Rob Rainer, TVT – Councillor/Property Committee Chair

Erika Heesen, Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Lynn Marsh – Secretary/Treasurer

Font Resize